Amazing love!

And can it be that I should gain
An interest in the Savior’s blood?
Died He for me, who caused His pain-
For me, who Him to death pursued?
Amazing love! How can it be,
That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?                                          
Amazing love! How can it be,
That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?

He left His Father’s throne above
So free, so infinite His grace-
Emptied Himself of all but love,
And bled for Adam’s helpless race:
‘Tis mercy all, immense and free,
For O my God, it found out me!
‘Tis mercy all, immense and free,
For O my God, it found out me!

Long my imprisoned spirit lay,
Fast bound in sin and nature’s night;
Thine eye diffused a quickening ray-
I woke, the dungeon flamed with light;
My chains fell off, my heart was free,
I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.
My chains fell off, my heart was free,
I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.

No condemnation now I dread;
Jesus, and all in Him, is mine;
Alive in Him, my living Head,
And clothed in righteousness divine,
Bold I approach th’eternal throne,
And claim the crown, through Christ my own.
Bold I approach th’eternal throne,
And claim the crown, through Christ my own.

What a fantastic hymn off adoration. This hymn by Charles Wesley is a great exaltation of the glorious Salvation found in Jesus Christ. This oh to familiar hymn is great because of its catchy tune and well known lyrics, but how often do we look at what they mean, where are their basis in Scripture and what glorious truths does it point us to.

The hymn is made up of four verses which goes through systematically the redemption of a sinner. The first verse:

And can it be that I should gain
An interest in the Savior’s blood?
Died He for me, who caused His pain-
For me, who Him to death pursued?
Amazing love! How can it be,
That Thou, my God, shouldst die for me?

The first verse and indeed the Chorus tell of the great love which God has for us, so much so that he came and died for us. The great line of “For me, who him to death pursued?” this great line tells of Christ’s love for us, that he loved us even to the point of death. This line reminds us of the famous quote from Johns gospel:

John 3:16

For God so loved the World, that He sent His only Son.

This first verse of praise is summed up by God’s love for us. This self Sacrificing “Agape” love is God’s motive for setting us free from the power of Sin. The reason he came to save us through Christ is as it says in John 3:16 “For God so Loved the World.”

The second verse:

He left His Father’s throne above
So free, so infinite His grace-
Emptied Himself of all but love,
And bled for Adam’s helpless race:
‘Tis mercy all, immense and free,
For O my God, it found out me!
‘Tis mercy all, immense and free,
For O my God, it found out me!

This verse for me is all about the second line “ So free, so infinite His grace”. The salvation that we have from sin is nothing we have deserved. We are sinful and do not deserve to be saved, we choose to turn away from God until by God’s infinite grace, we turn to God and look to Him as our saviour. For inspiration from Scripture we turn to Pauls fantastic words on Grace from the book of Romans:

Romans 3:22-24 (ESV)
For there is no distinction for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus.

We have all sinned, and all of us have fallen short of the the Glory of God, but God has justified by grace, he has justified us when we do not deserve it, this is done as Paul says through Jesus Christ. So once again Charles Wesley has captured a great theme of the Bible, Grace.

The third verse:

Long my imprisoned spirit lay,
Fast bound in sin and nature’s night;
Thine eye diffused a quickening ray-
I woke, the dungeon flamed with light;
My chains fell off, my heart was free,
I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.
My chains fell off, my heart was free,
I rose, went forth, and followed Thee.

The third verse, the penultimate verse brings us to the moment of redemption. the moment when one is saved, when they trust and believe in Jesus’ name. The chains which Wesley mentions here are the chains which hold us because of Sin, the hold which sin and the Devil has on our lives. Wesley talks here of when we believe, the chains fall away, we are free! The freedom which is found in Christ. The freedom of Salvation.

From Scripture we see:

 

Romans 8:2 (ESV)

For the law of the Spirit of life has set you free in Christ Jesus from the law of sin and death.

We have been set free from death, by the Spirit of Life, that is the Spirit of Jesus, that means that we have been set free from death and have been set free to life. This is the glorious truth of the Gospel. That through Christ we are redeemed from death and set free in to life.

The fourth verse:

No condemnation now I dread;
Jesus, and all in Him, is mine;
Alive in Him, my living Head,
And clothed in righteousness divine,
Bold I approach th’eternal throne,
And claim the crown, through Christ my own.
Bold I approach th’eternal throne,
And claim the crown, through Christ my own.

Here we reach the climax of the hymn but also the climax of the story of redemption. We have reached the point of redemptions story which means as Wesley says “Bold I approach th’eternal throne” Because of Christ we are made righteous, righteous enough to enter the throne room of Heaven not because of anything which we have done but because of the works of Christ.

We see in Scripture:

Revelation 19:4-5
4And the twenty-four elders and the four living creatures fell down and worshiped God who was seated on the throne, saying, “Amen. Hallelujah!” 5And from the throne came a voice saying,“Praise our God, all you his servants, you who fear him,small and great.”

This glorious picture of the throne room with which those who trust in Christ are welcomed to join in, is a picture of how this story of redemption concludes. It comes to the point where having been saved we join as one to worship and give glory to God in the throne room. Somewhere we never thought we could be, But God in his infinite grace has welcomed us to join Him in the Throne room to glorify Him.

I hope you have enjoyed this look into the story of redemption make clear through the aid of Wesley’s hymn as it points us to parts of Scripture which explain to us the great story of redemption.

God bless,

Gareth.

Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/scriptureguides?ref=hl

YouTube:https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCruoHiYWWvYIdVK6a260xIQ

Twitter: @wordtolife2

One thought on “Amazing love!

Leave a Reply

